June 29, 2022

Rotary Club of Deep River Honors Three Residents

From left to right: Paul Mozzochi, Timothy Haut, John Bauer and Marge Schofield

The Rotary Club of Deep River has named Paul Mozzochi and John Bauer as its Citizens of the Year for 2010 and honored Margaret Schofield as Paul Harris Fellow. The Awards were presented at the Rotary Club’s annual year-end dinner June 29 at La Vita Gustosa Restaurant in East Haddam.

 The Club seeks each year to designate as Citizens of the Year community members who represent the Rotary International motto of “Service above Self.” This year the Club wanted to honor members of both the local police force and fire department

Paul Mozzochi has been an officer in Deep River for decades and is widely known by generations of local children as the Main Street crossing guard. He has worked tirelessly and graciously to serve his community with a warm and gentle spirit.

John Bauer, a local CPA, has spent 13 years as a Deep River volunteer firefighter (as well as 8 years as a fireman in Killingworth previously). He accepted the award “on behalf of all Deep River volunteer firefighters who do so much to make our community a better place to live.”

Phyllis Bjornberg Haut, Secretary of the Deep River Rotary Club, commented that these two people “represent the kind of love and commitment which inspires and encourages others.” She added, “We thank them for their faithfulness to all the citizens of Deep River.”

Also at the dinner, the Rotary Club honored outgoing Secretary Margaret Schofield as a Paul Harris Fellow. This award, given by the club with a $2,000 contribution to the International Rotary Foundation, identifies the Paul Harris Fellow as an advocate of the Foundation’s goals of world peace and international understanding. It has been the practice of the Deep River Club to award this Fellowship to select members in appreciation of outstanding service to the club. Marge has been a forceful advocate of the club’s emphasis on supporting early childhood education in our community. Through her efforts, the club established a scholarship fund to be used to help families unable to afford pre-school education for their children.

The club also inducted its new officers for the 2010-11 year. They include President Hedy Watrous, Vice President Kevin Brewer, Secretary Phyllis Bjornberg Haut, and Treasurer Tinder Baser.