July 1, 2022

Local Arts Programs Benefit from State Grants

This week State Senator Eileen M. Daily (D-Westbrook) reported details about five state grants meant to support fine arts programs in the 33rd Senatorial District. The total amount of funding to be distributed is $43,806 Senator Daily said.

Grants are made available through three state programs administered by the Connecticut Commission on Culture and Tourism: the Arts Presentation Grant Program, the Creative Collaboration Grant Program, and the General Operating Support Grant Program. Each is partially underwritten by federal funds through the National Endowment for the Arts.

“I think it is so important for residents to have access to musical and dramatic productions, as well as displays of paintings, sculpture, photography and other visual arts – we learn so much when we experience our world as interpreted by these artists,” Senator Daily said. “It’s gratifying to know some of these grants are going to local schools, where they will be used to help young people experiment and test their own creative abilities.”

Senator Daily said the following programs are in line to receive funding:

  • Chester Elementary School PTO – $1,113
  • Opera Theater of Connecticut (Clinton) – $3,807
  • Goodspeed Opera House (East Haddam) – $37,986
  • Memorial Elementary School (East Hampton) – $300
  • Connecticut River Foundation at Steamboat Dock (Essex) – $600

“These grants will make a significant impact in the quality of life in south central Connecticut and help stabilize our local economy besides,” Senator Daily said. “I’m particularly pleased the Commission on Culture and Tourism chose to support the programs and productions at the Goodspeed Opera House, an iconic facility in our part of the state attracting people from throughout New England and beyond.”

Senator Daily is completing her ninth term in the state Senate. In addition to her responsibility for the Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee she is vice-chair of the Public Safety and Security Committee and a member of the Legislative Management and Internship