July 4, 2022

Essex Community Fund Distibutes $42,000 to 37 Local Charities and Organizations

Darwyn Azzinaro, President of the fund board of directors, introduces award recipients

ESSEX— The Essex Community Fund Wednesday distributed $42,000 in donations to 37 local and area charities and non-profit organizations. Funds for the donations were contributed by local residents last year.

For the first time, Essex Community Fund held a public ceremony announcing the donations, awarding checks to representatives of the organizations in the event held at the community room of the Essex Meadows retirement community.

Darwyn Azzinaro, president of the fund board of directors, said the ten-member board of directors reviewed applications for funding and decided how much to contribute to each charity or organization. Though the specific amount of each donation was not announced, Azzinaro said “we try our best to give each of them as much as we can.”

Charities and organizations receiving donations include American Red Cross, Bushy Hill Nature Center, the Chester-based Camp Hazen-YMCA, CDE Cooperative Nursery School, the areawide Child and Family Agency, Community Music School, Connecticut Audubon Society, Connecticut River Museum, and the Early Childhood Council of Essex, Deep River and Chester.

Also  Essex Ambulance Association Inc. Essex Art Association, Essex Boy Scouts Troop 12-Cub Scouts Troop 4, Essex Elementary School Camperships, Essex Elementary School Foundation, Essex Fire Engine Company No. 1, Essex Fuel Assistance program, Essex Historical Society Inc. Essex Housing Authority, Essex Land Trust, Essex Library Association, Essex Police Union Fund, Essex Tree Committee, Essex Veterans Memorial Hall Inc., FISH (Friends In Service Here), Estuary Council of Seniors Inc., and Gilead Community Services.

Also Ivoryton Library Association, Ivoryton Playhouse, Literacy Volunteers, New Horizons Domestic Violence Community Health Center Service, Region 4 Education Foundation Inc. Rushford Foundation, Shoreline Soup Kitchens, Tri-Town Youth Services, Valley Shore YMCA, Visiting Nurses of the Lower Valley, and the Valley Regional High School Safe Graduation Committee.

Board members include Azzinaro, vice president Jacqueline Doane, secretary Stacia Libby, treasurer Jean Schneider, past president Rick Stebbins, Mark Bombaci, Betsy Martinez, Chris Rodriguez, Anthony Chirico, and Cara Palagonia.

The Essex Community Fund, Inc. is organized for the purpose of soliciting and collecting monies through the their annual drive for contributions. The monies collected are used for the benefit of organizations, both local and national, as may be decided upon from time to time by the Board of Governors. Their mission is to assist organizations that are providing services to the villages of Essex, Centerbrook and Ivoryton.

For more details of their activities visit www.essexcommunityfund.com.