January 25, 2022

Town Republicans Lead Democrats in Campaign Funding for Nov. 8 Election

ESSEX— Republican first selectman nominee Bruce MacMillian has raised more campaign funding dollars than Democratic candidate Norman Needleman, according to campaign finance reports for a three-month period ending Sept. 30.

MacMillian, a retired business executive running for board of selectmen with incumbent Republican Selectman Joel Marzi, has raised a total of $9,195 for the MacMillian for First Selectman candidate committee. The committee reported expenditures of $1,269, with a balance on hand of $7,925 as of Sept. 30. Town Republicans have also done limited fundraising for the Essex Republican Town Committee, raising a total of $1,593, with expenditures of $515 as of Sept. 30.

Needleman, a local businessman who has served on the board of selectman since 2003, is seeking the top job on a ticket with Stacia Rice Libby as the candidate for board of selectmen. The Needleman-Libby 2011 candidate committee has raised a total of $6,175, with expenditures of $2,717 and a balance on hand of $3,457 as of Sept. 30. The Essex Democratic Town Committee filed a short form campaign finance report for the July-September period.

MacMillian contributed $1,000 for his campaign, the maximum allowed by law. Other large donors include Yong Huo of Guilford $500, with local residents Lynn Richardson and Chad Floyd each donating $300. There were several $250 or $200 donations from town residents, including $250 from former First Selectman Bruce Glowac, Linda Dwyer, Geoffrey Herter, Estelle Zahn, John Beverage, and Karen Migliaccio. There were $200 donations from Burton Karp, Chester Kitchings, Peter Shanley, Joseph Bardenheier, and Marzi. Lawrence Doyle of Vero Beach, Fla. donated $150.

A total of 27 town residents each donated $100 to the MacMillian campaign, including former 33rd District State Senate nominee Neil Nichols, John Orr, Adrienne Forrest, James Richard, Alison Nichols, Joseph Ackerman, George Mayer, Lee Thompson, Linda Newber, Nancy Ackerman, Terry Stewart, Frank Wolcott, Donna Hyde, Timothy Lynch, Joanne O’Neil, Rives Potts, Carolyn Timmerman, Yvonne Haynes, Cynthia David, Mary Jones,  Arthur Meister, Patricia Doylin, Janet Peckinpaugh, Steven Bancroft, Jean Fisher, and Joseph Montana. Also Vivienne Gorra of Madison $100 and Bernard Grabowski of Bristol $100.

Needleman and his companion, Ivoryton Playhouse Executive Director Jacqueline Hubbard, each donated $750 to the campaign. The candidate’s son and daughter-in-law, Matthew and Katie Needleman of Ivoryton, also each contributed $750. Other large donations include $500 each from residents Joseph and Elizabeth DeFelice, and $250 donations from resident Geraldine Ficarra and Stanley Prymas of Deep River. Carol Macelwee donated $200. Nine town residents each contributed $100 to the Needleman-Libby Committee, including First Selectman Phil Miller, Robin Chapin, Larry Shipman, Caitlin Riley, Roseann Vertimiglia, William Buckridge, Lee Thompson, Mark Reeves, and Beverly Taylor. Democratic State Senator Eileen Daily of Westbrook also donated $100.