August 14, 2022

A Christmas Story – “Home for The Holidays” at Ivoryton Playhouse

Take an unexpected blizzard, add a sprinkling of the Nutcracker, a pinch of Dickens’ Christmas Carol, stir in a little romance and festive song, top it all off with holiday magic and you get a new family tradition called Home for the Holidays premiering at the Ivoryton Playhouse on December 8.

Home for the Holidays is a new holiday show conceived and directed by Playhouse Executive/Artistic Director, Jacqueline Hubbard. “This has been such an important year for the Ivoryton Playhouse. Not only did we reach our 100th birthday but we weathered a hurricane that tore down our beautiful spruce and narrowly missed the building. I feel as though something was watching over us on that day and that was the inspiration for this story.”

This heart warming family story is filled with carols, new and old, and many faces familiar to Playhouse audiences. Cast includes Playhouse favorites –  Beverley Taylor, Norm Rutty, Michael McDermott*, John DeNicola, Maggie McGlone Jennings, Caroline Read, Alanna Burke, Gayle LaBrec, Jason Naylor, Brandon Clark and Addison Marchese. And some new local talent will be making their Playhouse debut in this show – Erica LuBonta, Liz Pester, Will Schneider, Kaitlyn Vitelli, Kearney Capuano and Carson Waldron.

The set for this production is designed by Jo Nazro and lights by Doug Harry.  Come and experience the true magic of the season with this original Connecticut Christmas story – for two weeks only.

Home for the Holidays opens on Thursday, December 8 and runs thru December 18 for 2 weeks. Performance times are Saturday and Sunday matinees at 2 p.m. Evening performances are Thursday, Friday and Saturday at 7:30 p.m.

Tickets are $30 for adults, $20 for students and $15 for children and are available by calling the Playhouse box office at 860-767-7318 or by visiting our website at  (Group rates are available by calling the box office for information.) The Playhouse is located at 103 Main Street in Ivoryton.

*member of Actors Equity