August 14, 2022

Appointments, Additional Appropriations on Agenda of Essex Annual Town Meeting Monday

ESSEX— Special appropriations and confirmation votes on more than a dozen board and commission appointments are on the agenda of the annual town meeting Monday at 7 p.m. in the auditorium at town hall.

The meeting, held on the third Monday of November, is called the annual town meeting because the agenda also includes a vote accepting the annual town report. The latest report covers the 2010-2011 fiscal year that ended last June.

Voters will be asked to approve a $22,796 additional appropriation for police services. The other additional appropriation is $11,500 from the Essex Elementary School capital improvement sinking fund for purchase and installation of carpeting in a wing of the school. Both additional appropriations have been approved by the board of finance.

Voters will be asked to confirm several reappointments and appointments to town boards and commissions that were approved by the newly elected board of selectmen at a meeting Wednesday. Most of the members up for confirmation votes Monday are incumbents on the boards and commissions.

The appointments include Lillian Mosa and Alvin Wolfgram for three-year terms on the zoning commission, with Robert Connelly and William Reichenbach as commission alternates, along with Douglas Demarest and William Ferguson for three-year terms on the zoning board of appeals.

Also Lon Seidman, Lee Thompson, and Mark Uihlein for two-year terms on the economic development commission. Walter Weigert and alternate Mark Faulstick are up for reappointment to three-year terms on the harbor management commission.

Appointments to the sanitary waste commission/water pollution control authority for two-year terms are Mark Reeves, Randel Osborne, Robert Van Houten, Leigh Rankin, and Alvin Wolfgram as a commission alternate. Wolfgram is becoming an alternate after serving as a member and chairman of the joint commissions.

Appointments to the park and recreation commission for three-year terms are Anthony Mosa, Robert Russo, Douglas Senn, and Cathy Bishop as a commission alternate. Nancy Hudson and Ann Penniman are up for appointment to three-year terms on the tree committee.

Gudrun Lelash, Claire Tiernan and Barbara Zernike are up for appointment to three- year terms on the inland-wetlands commission. Lelash, Pamela Barnardini, and Maryann Pleva are up for appointment to three-year terms on the conservation commission, with Susan Malan as a commission alternate.