January 21, 2022

Essex Town Meeting Approves Annual Town Report, Board and Commission Appointments

ESSEX— Voters at the annual town meeting Monday approved 20 board and commission appointments, along with the annual town report for the 2011-2012 fiscal year that ended in June. Only a dozen residents turned out for the town meeting that he held each year on the third Monday in November, unanimously approving all resolutions in less than 15 minutes.

This year’s annual town report is dedicated to Herb and Sherry Clark, a local couple that have engaged in numerous philanthropic efforts that have included preservation of the Centerbrook Meeting House, and the Ivoryton Playhouse in 1978.

Nearly all of the board and commission positions confirmed Monday were reappointments of serving members. The appointments include Richard Helmecki and Kathleen Tucker for the conservation commission, Susan Uihlein and Larry Shipman for the zoning commission, Ralph Monaco and Linda Herman for the planning commission, and Nancy Arnold for the inland-wetlands commission with Jim Leo as commission alternate.

Also Paul Greenberg and Alexander Daddona for zoning board of appeals with Lynn Faulstick as ZBA alternate, John Beveridge, Edward Cook and David Winstead for economic development commission, Wally Schieferdecker and John Senning for harbor management commission, and Cathy Bishop and Thomas Clerkin for parks and recreation commission with Virginia Willetts as commission alternate. John Malloy was confirmed for the tree committee.