May 20, 2022

Deep River Democrats and Republicans Select Town Committees for 2014-2016 Term

DEEP RIVER— Town Democrats and Republicans have selected town committees for the 2014-2016 term after party caucuses held over the past week. The new town committee terms begin in March.

Democrats have selected a 26 member town committee that has three new members, Janet Edgarton, Stephen Bibbiani, and Karol Tulp Magee. Two members of the current committee stepped aside, John Bairos and Stella Beaudoin. Democrats have controlled the majority on the three-member board of selectmen since First Selectman’s Richard Smith’s election to a second term in 1991.

Incumbents returning to the Democratic panel include Carmela Balducci, Leigh Balducci, former Speaker of the House Richard Balducci, current committee Chairwoman and Tax Collector Lisa Bibbiani, Cindy Cosme, former Selectman Richard Daniels Jr., Dorothy DeMichael, Bruce Edgarton, Nancy Fishbach, Joanne Grabek. George Howard and Carol Jones. Also Ann Joy, Jonathan Kastner, Russell Marth, Mary Maraschiello, Selectman Angus McDionald Jr., Alan Miezejeski, Roy Monte, Valerie Nucci, Mark Reyher, Carol Smith, and Richard Smith.

Republicans have picked a 16 member town committee that includes two new members, Michelle Grow and Doug Nagan. Three members of the current committee stepped aside, Mary Brownlee, Robert Edgeworth, and Margot Gamerdinger.

Incumbents returning to the Republican panel include committee Chairman Gargory Alexander, Louise Cowan, Douglas Dopp, William Harris, Alice Johnson, Town Treasurer Thomas Lindner, Joyce Winterstein, Selectman David Oliveria, Rolf Peterson, Donald Routh, Grace Stalsburg, Cynthia Stannard, Rosemary Unan, and Town Clerk Amy Winchell.