December 17, 2018

Essex Historical Society Hosts Second Day of “Walking Weekend,” Today  

The Pratt House in Essex is the town’s only historic house museum.

The Pratt House in Essex is the town’s only historic house museum.

ESSEX — Combine a love of history and (light) exercise as Essex Historical Society (EHS) launches a new program, “Walking Weekend,” on Friday, July 31, and Saturday, Aug. 1.  The event features two different walking tours of Essex Village in which attendees enjoy an easy stroll down the seaport’s 18th century streets learning about the major industries, structures and personalities that shaped the area.

Essex Historical Society’s trained, knowledgeable volunteer guides will lead an hour-plus long tour over fairly level, paved terrain, covering three centuries of history.

On July 31, at 7 p.m., the first tour will meet at the Foot of Main Street, Essex, for a trip down Main Street to capture the rich maritime history of 18th century “Potapaug,” its working waterfront and ship-building prominence in the early 19th century, as well as its development as a beautiful visitor destination of today.

On Aug. 1, at 1 p.m., the second tour will meet at the Pratt House, 19 West Ave., for a trip down West Ave. and Prospect Street to explore the histories behind the structures of “Pound Hill” including several 19th century churches, Hills Academy, the Old Firehouse and more.

Each tour is $5 per person and open to the general public.  Admission helps support the educational and cultural programming of Essex Historical Society.  Join a tour for fun, facts and fresh air.

Attendees are also welcome to tour the historic 1732 Pratt House, the town’s only historic house museum.

Formed in 1955, EHS is committed to fulfilling its mission of engaging and inspiring the community in the three villages of Centerbrook, Essex and Ivoryton.

For more information, visit www.essexhistory.org or call (860) 767-0681.

Share