August 18, 2022

Transit District Receives Grant for Hybrid Vehicles

The Connecticut Department of Transportation (DOT) has announced that 9 Town Transit (9TT), a service of the Estuary Transit District, is a recipient of a 2010 Connecticut Clean Fuel (CCF) program grant.

The intent of the CCF program is to improve air quality, reduce dependency on petroleum based fuels and enhance public awareness of alternative fuel-based technologies in the automotive and transportation industries by providing incentives for public entities in Connecticut to adopt clean fuel technologies.

Funding for CCF is awarded to the state by the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and allocated to each of Connecticut’s two Ozone Non-Attainment Areas.  The New York-New Jersey-Connecticut area, which includes the Estuary region, was awarded a total of $968,000.  9TT received $119,760 for the hybrid drive systems of three vehicles.

9 Town Transit will combine the funding with Rural Transit funding from the DOT to purchase a hybrid Ford Escape and two hybrid 12 passenger buses.  The hybrid buses will be the first light-duty hybrid buses in the state, making 9TT one of only a handful of transit districts in the country with such vehicles.

The hybrid drive system is expected to reduce fuel consumption by 25 to 30%, reduce reliance on fossil fuels, cut greenhouse gas emissions and lower fuel costs.  The transition to hybrid vehicles is part of a larger initiative by 9TT to promote the environmental benefits of public transit.

The Estuary Transit District provides public transit service via the fleet of 13 buses to Chester, Clinton, Deep River, Essex, Killingworth, Lyme, Old Lyme, Old Saybrook and Westbrook through its 9 Town Transit service.

Connections are provided to New Haven, Middletown, Hartford and New London/Norwich bus services as well as Shoreline East Commuter Rail.  All services are open to the general public with no age or disability restrictions.

Additional information, route maps and schedules are available online at or by calling 9 Town Transit at 860-510-0429.